The committee will oversight on:

  •  To increase enrollment at all levels of education
  • To develop adequate and quality infrastructure particularly in  lower  parts  of  the  County, urban  slums  and irradiate poverty, gender disparity, HIV and AIDs.
  • To develop policies on special needs in education.
  • Empowerment of Youth polytechnics, home craft centres and early childhood development.


(a) investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, activities, administration, operations and estimates of the assigned departments;

(b) study the programme and policy objectives of departments and the effectiveness of the implementation;

(c) study and review all County legislation referred to it;

(d) study, assess and analyse the relative success of the departments as measured by the results obtained as compared with their stated objectives;

(e) investigate and inquire into all matters relating to the assigned departments as they may deem necessary, and as may be referred to them by the County Assembly;

(f) to vet and report on all appointments where the Constitution or any law requires the County Assembly to approve, except those under Standing Order 198 (Committee on Appointments) ; and

(g) make reports and recommendations to the County Assembly as often as possible, including recommendation of proposed legislation.

The committee has produced the following reports:


1.         Hon. Ann Lilly Chairperson
2.        Hon. Augustine Njeru V/Chairperson
3.        Hon. Muriithi  Kiura Member
4.        Hon. Daniel Githinji Member
5.        Hon. Terry Mbuchi Member
6.        Hon. Samuel Githumbu Member
7.        Hon. Maureen K. Nyaga  Member

Second Assembly committee produced the following reports:


1 Hon. Patrick Njeru Mukavi Chairperson
2 Hon. Edna Kanini Muisyo V/Chairperson
3 Hon. Judy Mbuya Njue Member
4 Hon. Rose Ruguru Kinyua Member
5 Hon. Robert Njiru Ireri Member
6. Hon. Fredrick Mugendi Gatumu Member
7. Hon. John Ngari Mbaka Member