Powers & Privileges

Mandate of Committee on Powers and Privileges

 (1) There shall be a select committee to be known as the Committee on Powers and Privileges consisting of the Speaker, majority whip, minority whip and five other Members under the chairmanship of the Speaker.

(2) The Quorum of the Committee shall be a half of the Members of the Committee, excluding the Speaker but the Speaker shall not be counted for the purposes of quorum and shall not vote.

(3)The Committee on Powers and Privileges shall either on its own Motion or as a result of a complaint made by any person inquire into the conduct of a Member whose conduct is alleged to constitute a breach of privilege in terms of the provisions of the County Assembly Powers and Privileges Act, 2016 or into any conduct of any Member of the Assembly within the precincts of the Assembly (other than the chamber) which is alleged to have been intended or likely to affect adversely on the dignity or integrity of the Assembly or the Member thereof, or to be contrary to the best interests of the Assembly or the Members thereof within fourteen days of receipt of a complaint

(4)The Committee on powers and Privileges shall within fourteen days of the conclusion of an inquiry, table its findings in the County Assembly together with such recommendation as it considers appropriate.

(5) The Assembly shall, in accordance with rules made by it (which rules need not be published in the gazette), consider the report and the recommendations thereon and may take such disciplinary action against the Member concerned as may be provided by those rules and any other relevant Act of Parliament

(6) Any disciplinary action such as is referred to in paragraph (5) may include suspension from the service of the Assembly.

The committee has produced the following reports:


1.        Hon. Josiah Thiriku – Chairperson
2.        Terry C Wanja Mbuchi Member
3.        Agnes Wanjiru Gakungugu Member
4.        Hon. Augustine Njeru Member
5.        Hon. Ibrahim Swaleh Member
6.        Hon. Ann Lilly Njiru Member
7.        Hon. John Mbaka Member
8.        Hon. Peter Muriithi Member

Second Assembly committee produced the following reports:


1 Hon. Josiah Muriithi Thiriku Chairperson
2 Hon. Kariuki Michael Njeru Member
3 Hon. Mugendi Steve Munene Member
4 Hon. Gatumu Fredrick Mugendi Member
5 Hon. Masters Leonard Mwaniki Member
6 Hon. Judy Mbuya Njue Member
7 Hon. Nzangi Philip Kinyutu Member