Energy, Roads, Transport And Public Works


Oversight to the management and supervision of;

  • Construction and maintenance of County roads.
  • Implementation or and realization of County transport and safety policy.
  • Transport and mechanical services.
  • Implementation of traffic regulations Housing and energy
  • Contractions of proper Storm water drainage.
  • Energy reticulation and regulation.
  • Building and maintenance of County government houses


(a) investigate, inquire into, and report on all matters relating to the mandate, management, activities, administration, operations and estimates of the assigned departments;

(b) study the programme and policy objectives of departments and the effectiveness of the implementation;

(c) study and review all County legislation referred to it;

(d) study, assess and analyse the relative success of the departments as measured by the results obtained as compared with their stated objectives;

(e) investigate and inquire into all matters relating to the assigned departments as they may deem necessary, and as may be referred to them by the County Assembly;

(f) to vet and report on all appointments where the Constitution or any law requires the County Assembly to approve, except those under Standing Order 198 (Committee on Appointments) ; and

(g) make reports and recommendations to the County Assembly as often as possible, including recommendation of proposed legislation.

The committee has produced the following reports:


1.        Hon. Edwin Muriithi Chairperson
2.        Hon. John Mbaka v/Chairperson
3.        Hon. Maurice Macharia Member
4.        Hon. Samuel Githumbu Member
5.        Hon. Newton Kariuki Member
6.        Hon. Anne Lily Njiru Member
7.        Hon. Agnes Gakungugu Member

Second Assembly committee produced the following reports:

 Report- Infrastructure,county chief officer and county chief officer energy and housing 2


1. Hon. John Ngari Mbaka Chairperson
2. Hon. Michael Njeru Kariuki V/Chairperson
3. Hon Newton Kariuki Ndwiga Member
4. Hon. Duncan Ireri Mbui Member
5. Hon Harrison Sammy Muturi Member
6. Hon. Elizabeth Ndeleve Kibai Member
7. Hon. Edith Wanjira Nyaga Member